Best Food Blog Recipe Search THIS WEEK’S PICK Gabby’s Irish Nachos

Gabby’s Irish Nachos

I will be scouring the food blogs, searching out tantalizing recipes and posting a new one each day. Every Sunday I will pick one recipe to make and will share the experience with you!

At the end of the year, you will help me pick the best of the best weekly recipes as the Best Food Blog Recipe of the Year!

If you know of any good food blogs, send ‘em my way!

THIS WEEK’S PICK

The Irish Nachos on “What’s Gabby Cooking”

This week, I decided to make the nachos primarily because I had most of the ingredients on hand already.  I used ground beef instead of ground turkey, otherwise, I stuck to the recipe.  I usually make adjustments of my own when I make things according to recipe, but for the Best Food Blog Recipe Search, I decided that I will have to remain faithful to the recipes.  The recipe can be found at the link above, or here.

One thing that struck me about this recipe was a lack of more Mexican or Tex-Mex flavours.  Things like chili powder, cumin powder, oregano, jalapeno and lime.  I also don’t like garlic or onion powder.  I always prefer to get those flavours from the raw ingredient.  Next time, I would add more mexican flavours.

This recipe goes well with my Pico de Gallo and, of course, guacamole.  For my guacamole, I just use the Pico de Gallo recipe and fold some into mashed avocado, adjust the seasoning and add an extra squeeze of lime.

I didn’t have a tart pan that the recipe calls for, so I just went freeform on a parchment lined baking sheet.

All in all, a good foundation recipe that you can build on to suit your personal taste. After all, it’s hard to go wrong with nachos.

Would I make it again?  Probably not. I think I prefer the usual kind with chips.

My Rating: 6/10   My Wife’s Rating: 7.5/10

 

Saturday Feb. 11, 2012

At “Sarah’s Place”, the Wild Mushroom Ragout triggered my Pavlovian reflex.  I love rich, earthy wild mushrooms.  I would probably add some morels into the mix.  Ultimately, my choice of which of these three recipes I am going to make tomorrow simply depends on what I feel like eating at that moment.

Friday Feb. 10 2012

The Stacked Crab Bistro Salad with Cilantro Lime Vinaigrette on “cooking-spree” looks delicious.  I try to cook healthy for the most part, and I like the ingredient list of this recipe.  Not only is it healthy, but they are just the kinds of flavours I love and I like the freshness of it.  And the photography looks great!

Thursday Feb. 9 2012

The Irish Nachos on “What’s Gabby Cooking”.  How great is that!  Irish Nachos have a base of thinly sliced roasted potatoes as a base instead of chips topped with an otherwise traditional hearty Tex-Mex topping utilizing ground turkey instead of beef.  If I make this recipe, I might use beef instead.

About foodcompanion

personal chef, caterer, crossfit and weight training enthusiast

One comment

  1. WOAH. Irish Nachos. I didn’t know they existed. VERY glad I stopped by.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

