THIS WEEK’S PICK for Best Food Blog Recipe Search Spaghetti with Walnut and Anchovies

This Sunday we picked the Spaghetti with Walnut and Anchovies from Cooking with Amy to make.  All of last week’s recipe picks looked equally delectable to me, so I deferred to my wife who, as usual, chose the pasta dish.

This recipe is an excellent example of the genius of Italian cuisine for combining a few simple ingredients to create a whole that is much more than the sum of its parts.  Just from reading the recipe, I found it hard to imagine what this might taste like.  Alas, the result was fantastic.  Even the kids loved it.  Complex yet subtle, this sauce highlights and complements the flavour of pasta without overwhelming it and the walnuts provide a nice textural twist.

This recipe was so easy and quick to make (it was done in the time it took to cook the pasta) and the results so delicious that I will most definitely be making this dish again and again.  Highly recommended.

Rating: 8     My Wife’s Rating: 8

 

Sat. Feb. 18, 2012

Another Italian.  This time senza pasta.  Although, this Chicken Marsala and Mushroom Stew on Meals in Heels looks like it would be just fine on a nest of egg fettuccine. Even if I don’t choose this recipe to prepare tomorrow as my weekly best pic, I will definitely be making it at some point

Fri. Feb. 17, 2012

Today’s recipe was chosen by my wife.  She has a weakness for pasta and Italian food and this Spaghetti with Walnut and Anchovies Recipe on Cooking with Amy is a great example of the simple, elegant, ingredient oriented approach to cooking that characterizes the best Italian Cuisine.

Thur. Feb. 16, 2012

What could be better than a hearty, mildly spicy Hungarian Goulash with fall-apart tender chunks of beef over fat egg noodles, or, even better, homemade dumplings!  This Goulash recipe comes from Smitten Kitchen.  I really love the website, they have everything.  And great photography too!

Wed. Feb. 15, 2012

I love spicy and exotic Thai food and I love seafood.  I have cooked plenty of Thai food in my time, and this Seafood in Thai Red Coconut Curry  recipe at Gourmet De-Constructed looks like the real deal.

Tues. Feb. 14, 2102

I am a CrossFit enthusiast, and a popular dietary movement in crossfit circles is the Paleo/Primal diet.  I’m not a strict adherent, but I do approach my diet somewhat from the Paleo perspective.  One of the names almost synonymous with the Paleo diet is Mark Sisson.  His Primal Texas Chili looks awesome.  I love red meat!

Mon. Feb. 13, 2012

If you have ever had a good Nicoise Salad, you will know how a surprisingly simple dish can be so delicious and filling.  This one, on Soph n’ Stuff uses fresh seared tuna instead of canned.  That scores points with me right off the bat!

I will be scouring the food blogs, searching out tantalizing recipes and posting a new one each day. Every Sunday I will pick one of that week’s featured recipes to make and will share the experience with you!

At the end of the year, you will help me pick the best of the best weekly recipes as the Best Food Blog Recipe of the Year!

If you know of any good food blogs, send ’em my way!

About foodcompanion

personal chef, caterer, crossfit and weight training enthusiast

Leave a Reply

